President's Writing Awards


Contest categories are open to all manuscripts produced for coursework at College of Western Idaho from the Spring 2014 through Spring 2015 semesters.  Writing previously published is not eligible.  A student may enter multiple categories but may submit no more than one entry to each category.


Awards will be given for 1st, 2nd and 3rd place in each category.


Creative Nonfiction

Submissions in this category should be first-person accounts that explore the writer’s experiences or observations with honesty, insight, and artfulness.  Essays should not exceed 15 pages.

Critical Analysis

Essays in this category should critically evaluate or analyze a piece of literature, a theatrical performance, a work of visual art, a historical moment, a philosophical argument, a social movement, etc.   Essays should not exceed 15 pages.  


Students may submit one story that should not exceed 20 pages.


Students may submit one poem of any length.

Research Based

Submissions in this category are open to a wide variety of research-based topics and methodologies and should include documentation specific to their discipline (including science, math, technology, etc.).  Paper length should not exceed 20 pages.

Manuscript Submission:

Papers must be submitted electronically in Word as an email attachment to [email protected]. The author’s name should not appear anywhere on the manuscript. In the body of the email include the author’s name, address, phone number, e-mail address, student ID number, submission category, and the name of the professor the paper was written for. All submissions should be written in English unless otherwise specified. Writing must be submitted by the student with instructor certification that the writing was presented as student work in the classroom.  In addition, students must attest in the submission that the work is free of plagiarism. Submissions will be given to the faculty coordinator for the President's Writing Award, who will present the writings, anonymously, to a panel of readers who will choose the winning writings.

Past Award Winners