Accreditation - Standards

There are five Standards for Accreditation that articulate the quality and effectiveness expected of Accredited institutions, and collectively they provide a framework for continuous improvement within institutions.  The five standards also serve as indicators by which institutions are evaluated by peers.  The standards are designed to guide institutions in a process of self-reflection that blends analysis and synthesis in a holistic examination of:

  • the institution's Mission and Core Themes;
  • the translation of the Mission's Core Themes into assessable objectives supported by programs and services;
  • the appraisal of the institution's potential to fulfill the Mission;
  • the planning and implementation involved in achieving and assessing the desired outcomes of programs and services; and
  • an evaluation of the results of the institution's efforts to fulfill the Mission and assess its ability to monitor its environment, adapt, and sustain itself as a viable institution.

The five Standards for Accreditation are best understood within the context of the seven-year accreditation cycle. Although each is to be addressed during different stages of the cycle (Standard One in year one, Standard Two in year three, Standards Three and Four in year five, and Standard Five in year seven), the standards are interconnected and build upon each other in a recursive cycle of continuous improvement. For that reason, as an institution focuses on a given standard(s) for its Self-Evaluation Report, it does so in light of the standard(s) that have already been addressed, with the result that the information and analysis of previously addressed standards may be updated, expanded, and modified to produce a cohesive report.

Each of the five Standards for Accreditation is designated by a number and title (e.g., Standard One - Mission, Core Themes, and Expectations), and is further defined by elements of the standard, which are designated by the number of the standard followed by the letter of the element (e.g., 1.A Mission). The criteria for evaluation more specifically define the elements and are identified by the number of the standard, followed by the letter of the standard element, followed by the number of the criterion (e.g., 1.A.1). Each standard is introduced by a narrative summary intended only to provide direction, not to be addressed as a criterion.

Standard I - Mission, Core Themes and Expectations

Section I - Mission: Joy Palmer

Section II - Core Themes:  Rick Aman

Theme 1 - Professional Technical Education: Will Fanning
Theme 2 - General Education: Brenda Pettinger
Theme 3 - Basic Skills Education: Jac Webb
Theme 4 - Community Outreach: Scott Fenwick

Standard 2 - Resources and Capacity
Section I – Governance: Cathy Hampton
Section II – Human Resources: Denise Kholz
Section III – Education Resources: Cathy Hampton
Section IV – Student Support Resources: Terry Blom
Section V – Library and Information Resources: Kim Leeder
Section VI – Financial Resources: Marilyn Griggs
Section VII – Physical and Technical Infrastructure: Brian Currin
Standard 3 - Planning and Implementation
Section I – Institutional Planning: Joy Palmer
Standard 4 - Core Theme Planning, Assessment, and Improvement
Section I – Core Theme 1 Professional Technical Education: Will Fanning
Section II – Core Theme 2 General Education: Brenda Pettinger
Section III – Core Theme 3 Basic Skills Education: Jac Webb
Section IV – Core Theme 4 Community Outreach: Scott Fenwick
Standard 5 - Mission Fulfillment, Adaptation, and Sustainability
Section I – Mission Fulfillment: Joy Palmer
Section II – Adaptation and Sustainability: Joy Palmer


Need more info?

Executive VP, Instruction & Student Services
Phone: 208.562.3257

Nampa Campus Administrative Offices, 6056 Birch Lane, Nampa, ID 83687